Houseguests

G’Day Mob,

As a farmer I share my life with animals. The obvious ones are the cows, dogs and horses but I can assure you they are not the only inhabitants of Rocky Springs. For every cow we have in the paddock we probably have ten kangaroos or wallabies. There is a large population including eastern grey kangaroos, body-building wallaroos and very cute pretty-faced wallabies.

93 ROO

There are also echidnas,

Echidna 1

a fantastic array of reptiles, a multitude of birds, foxes, rabbits, hares, feral pigs, feral cats and feral goats.

goats

Unfortunately the animals don’t always stay in the paddocks.

You have read about the snake in my car

Bonnet Sanke2

but have I told you about Monty? Monty was a carpet python who lived in the roof of our last property, Braeside. The house was fairly run-down and had many holes in the ceiling, which would constantly drip water when it rained. Sick of sleeping in the wet patch I sent Brian into the roof one morning to fix some leaks and while on his hands and knees in the smallest of spaces he came face-to-face with Monty. The two of them exchanged expletives and withdrew, and Monty became a talking point for all of our visitors.

At the moment we have rodents. This is not unusual. When we first moved into Braeside Pep got all his exercise chasing mice up the hall and I remember being in bed one night when I heard the satisfactory sound of a mouse-trap going off. The sound soon became unsatisfactory when I heard the trap being dragged around the kitchen by something considerably larger than a mouse.

I won’t go as far to say we currently have a plague of rodents, though you will form your own opinion when I tell you we see mice crawling out of the stove, scampering along curtain rails and running across the lounge-room floor. We have already replaced the stove once as the mice had chewed out the wiring.

Pep once bailed up a feral kitten in our store-room, there have been snakes on the kitchen door, bats in the bedroom, frogs in the toilet, gecko skins behind pictures on the wall and another time we had a goanna in the fire-place. All make life interesting.

So Mob, what critters have you had as houseguests?

 

13 responses to “Houseguests

  1. P.S Mob can you tell me what the photos look like (size-wise) from where you’re viewing. WordPress seems to be doing some weird things.

  2. Photos are Ok Mandy. When I click on them they are brilliantly clear.
    Know what it feels like to have a mouse chew through stove wiring. Could smell a funny smoky smell and could hear a clicking noise coming from cupboard next to stove top. Sounded like a wire shorting. Quickly turned off at switch and to my surprise yes the wire was shorting, very lucky I was at home otherwise house could have burnt down as the wire had started smouldering where it had gone through the cupboard wall. Consequently new stove top, splash back and kitchen painted. Stove top had done well though – it was over 20 years old.

    • Wow that was a close call Glenys. Bloody mice! And thanks for the comment on the photos – from my end they were displaying super large or super small; nothing in between. Got to keep my readers happy 🙂

  3. You are much more hospitable about sharing your accommodations with wild friends. I prefer to find my wildlife outside. But to each his own. It makes your life a lot more interesting.

  4. I occasionally have a mouse plague, and Eric the skink gets to enjoy the benefits. I find that traps placed with the trigger against the wall (at night, so you don’t catch lizards) works pretty well, especially on the outside angle of corners. A couple of bits of pasta in a plastic bag can catch mice as well (if you’re quick and not squeamish). I have an echidna under my shed but way too often I have neighbours cats in the yard- I think I lost my semi-tame lizard Bootle to a cat over summer.

    • Thanks for the mouse tips and sorry to hear about Bootle. Was he the star of the Outback story or was that Ericson? Are Ericson and Erica and George still around?

  5. Mandy – Photos seem to display OK under Ubuntu Linux and Firefox web browser, from what I can tell .

    We used to have mice in the old doublewide, which was mainly insulated and held together by mold. They would bring hazelnuts in, and play nine pins at night with them, starting at the ceiling. One could hear, “putputputputput-tweedlecrashboomboom STRIKE” down the wall to the floor. Rick would bang on the wall and tell them to shutup. With 6 cats inside, one would think we would not have a problem. The mice, however, were too smart to come into the main living area. The occasional juvenile mouse might make a mistake and come up out of the heating vents, and get caught by the one-eyed cat with no front claws (previous owner declawed her), who enjoyed storing them in my slippers. We did have something else once, that got in between the floor and sub flooring. I woke up at 3:00 AM to get ready for Market, and saw all the cats staring at a patch of floor. When I went over to look, I heard, “GARR!SNEE SNEEE” from under the floor. Whatever it was, seemed to travel along under the floor until it exited the building. Never did find out what who that was. They never came back, or were at least quiet about it.

  6. Things that go bump in the night hey? Not knowing is often worse than knowing what is crawling around in our homes. Thanks for the photo comment.

  7. do you care if I share this on my twitter?

  8. we get a mouse invasion every year after the wheat harvest. They weed on some electrical component on my dishwasher and the darn thing no longer works – says there’s a fault that doesn’t exist. Computers on appliances don’t mix with mice!!
    Photos are medium and small here.

    • Thanks Naomi. It is all a bit of a mystery as to how the photos display on different computers/programs. We once had fried mice in the back of a power point. Mice and electricity definitely don’t mix.

Leave a Reply

