Stripping

 G’Day Mob,

I have spent a few days stripping – the money is terrible but at least I don’t have to think too much ……

109 Moonfence

Now in case your minds have wandered off to the darker side, let me elaborate. I have been stripping old fences; old dilapidated fences that haven’t contained a beast for years. Instead of taking clothes off I am taking wire off fence-posts.

In our rocky hills this is the most mind-numbing of jobs; cutting and pulling off rusty wire, cursing barb as I try and roll it into coils, cursing high-tensile wire that springs in all directions but the one you are trying to send it, blah, blah, blah.

It was so bad this week I nearly drove over a cliff.

We don’t have many cliffs here at Coolatai but there is one spot above the sandstone walls on the creek that could fit that description.

Sandstone Wall

I was stripping above this cliff one morning when, without much thought, (actually without any thought) I jumped into the ute, put it in neutral and let it roll forward (fence-numbed mind was thinking – “I don’t want to get all that long grass in the car as I shut the door”). Then, with the motor off, it kept rolling forward and was picking up a scary momentum headed for that cliff. My poor fenced-numb mind could then only think – “I must get this ute back in gear and stall it”.

I had completely forgotten about that middle peddle on the floor that is also known as a brake. I did manage to stall the vehicle without the brake before it made a spectacular descent and then I sat there for a few moments feeling very, very foolish.

I haven’t told Brian this little story so let’s keep it between ourselves and see how closely he reads this blog.

 

6 responses to “Stripping

  1. Glad you and the Ute are safe and sound 🙂 I once knew a woman who was washing her car down on a dock. She accidentally put it in forward instead of reverse and drove it off the dock. The car sank. The battery shorted and she couldn’t get the windows down to escape. Her husband was there, fortunately, and he dove in, kicked in the windows and got her out. She lived to tell the tale, and was given the nickname of “Flipper”.

  2. We’re into the hot, dry season here now. Amazing how fast the grass browns in this weather. Cherries are finishing up and blueberries are peaking here on the farm.

    It’s also Farm to Table event season here. Some farms team up with wineries and offer an evening of good food, ranch tours, etc.

  3. I think you should stay away from fences and cliffs or maybe put up fences by cliffs! At least mind numbing works leads to blogging to exercise the other part of the brain.

    • I have been getting a few replies like this Lyle. Comments range from “you dag” to “you goose” and a few unmentionables. Thank heavens for blogging.
      By the way I took an English dialect test this morning: http://www.gameswithwords.org/WhichEnglish/
      and as much as I tried to fool it into thinking I was Canadian – I kept coming up Aussie. Guess I’d better pay more attention when I read your blog!

      • I have no idea what those expressions mean which I suppose isn’t surprising.

        That’s hilarious that you tried to fool the test. I wouldn’t even know where to start to try to be Australian. I listen to people from Newfoundland and have no idea what they are saying. I took the test and came up Canadian – somewhat relieved.

Leave a Reply

